Asked by: Antoinette Lueilwitz

Is it a penalty if it's on the line?

  • Score 5/5

IMPORTANT: The lines are part of the areas they describe. For example, the line that marks the boundary of the penalty area is considered part of the penalty area. So if the ball is on or above any part of that line, it is still in the penalty area. Read more

  • Why Penalty Kicks Are Unfair To The Goalie
    Watch Youtube video
  • Watch Now




Is it a penalty if its on the line?

Although the foul initiated outside the box, it continued at least till the line marking the penalty area and a foul on the line is a penalty.

Is the line in the box Football?

The penalty area (colloquially "the 18-yard box" or just "the box") is similarly formed by the goal-line and lines extending from it, but its lines start 16.5 metres (18 yd) from the goalposts and extend 16.5 metres (18 yd) into the field.

Is it a penalty if it's in the D?

THE CURVED part of the 'D' is an arc of a circle, of radius 10 yards, centred on the penalty spot. When a penalty is taken only the penalty taker and the opposing goalkeeper (who must stay on his line until the ball is struck) are allowed in the penalty area.

What is classed as a penalty in football?

A penalty kick (commonly known as a penalty or a pen., also called a spot kick) is a method of restarting play in association football, in which a player is allowed to take a single shot on the goal while it is defended only by the opposing team's goalkeeper.

ThaJokes articles are based on information we have collected from all over the internet. We rely on reliable sources when gathering data. Despite the constant care and attention we pay in compiling this data, it is possible that the information published is incomplete or incorrect. Is there anything that is incorrect or incomplete in this article? Let us know at thajokes@gmail.com
~ ThaJokes Team ~


Most frequently asked questions

What are the rules for taking a penalty?

The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward; backheeling is permitted provided the ball moves forward. When the ball is kicked, the defending goalkeeper must have at least part of one foot touching, or in line with, the goal line.

Why is the penalty spot 12 yards?

Penalty spot - within the penalty area is a spot marked 12 yards in front of the centre of the goal. The arc on the penalty area is deliberately made to ensure opposition players are kept 10 yards from the penalty spot.

Can a goalkeeper move during a penalty?

Penalty kicks are conceded when a defended player fouls or commits a handball inside the 18 yard box (commonly known as the penalty box). Goalies must keep their feet on the goal line and not move until the ball is kicked. Referees allow them some leeway, particularly in the sideways direction.

What is the point of the 6 yard box?

If anyone in the attacking team is fouled in the area, they are awarded a penalty which is taken from a spot that is 12 yards from the goal line. There's another, smaller, rectangle too: the six yard box, whose main function is to limit where the goalkeeper can place the ball when taking a goal kick.

Can you pass a penalty kick?

Yes you can and it doesn't matter which direction you pass it, the only restrictions is the player taking the penalty cannot touch it a 2nd time until the ball has touched another player of either side.



Why Penalty Kicks Are Unfair To The Goalie

How many penalties are usually taken in a penalty shoot out?

The penalty-kick shootout to decide a match consists of a minimum of 5 penalty kicks to be taken by each of the two teams from the penalty spot (8 yards from the goal line in the case of half-pitch play, 10 yards in the case of full pitch play).

Where is a penalty kick taken?

Penalty kicks, introduced in 1891, are awarded for more serious fouls committed inside the area. The penalty kick is a direct free kick awarded to the attacking side and is taken from a spot 12 yards (11 metres) from goal, with all players other than…

Why does the penalty box have a semicircle?

The semi-circle is 10 yards from the penalty spot. When a penalty is taken, all players except the player taking the penalty are required to be at least 10 yards away. The semi-circle lets the players know where they can stand while the penalty is taken.

Does a penalty have to be direct?

A goal may be scored directly from a penalty kick. The ball must be stationary on the penalty mark and the goalposts, crossbar and goal net must not be moving. The player taking the penalty kick must be clearly identified.

How do penalties work?

In a penalty shoot-out, each team takes turns shooting at goal from the penalty mark, with the goal defended only by the opposing team's goalkeeper. Each team has five shots which must be taken by different kickers; the team that makes more successful kicks is declared the victor.

Why is the penalty area 18 yards?

Double the distance takes us to 12 yards. Add another 6 yards on and you've got 18 yards, which is the distance from the goal line that the edge of the area runs. The area also starts 18 yards from either post, which gives us the rectangular penalty area.

What is the penalty arc for?

A penalty arc (often informally called "the D") adjoins the penalty area, and encloses the area within 9.15m (10 yd) of the penalty spot. It does not form part of the penalty area and is only of relevance during the taking of a penalty kick, when any players inside the arc are adjudged to be encroaching.

Can you be offside in the 6 yard box?

A player can be offside within the 6-yard box. The offside rule applies to the entire attacking half of the soccer field, including the goal area. If a player commits an offside offense within the 6-yard box, the referee will award a free-kick to the defending team. Offsides are a significant part of any soccer game.

Why do goalkeepers dive the wrong way?

Goalkeepers usually decide a direction they intend to dive before the penalty taker kicks the ball. If the goalkeeper waits for the penalty kicker to kick the ball first before diving, they may not react in time. As such, goalkeepers usually guess the direction, which may result in them diving in the wrong direction.

Can you use your forearm in soccer?

In soccer, a player cannot use their arms or hands to touch the ball during a game. If they do this, then a free-kick or penalty will be awarded to the opposing team.

Is penalty a shot on target?

do penalties and free kicks count as shots on target or just open play? Hi Ben, any shot on target including penalties and free kicks count.

Can a goalkeeper take a throw in with his gloves on?

A goalkeeper is able to take a throw in, even with his gloves on. There is no rule that prevents a goalkeeper from taking a throw in. However, this occurrence is usually rare and mainly occurs when the keeper is closest to where the ball goes out of play.

Can anyone take a penalty kick in soccer?

The only players eligible to take a kick during a penalty shootout are the players currently on the field of play at the end of the game. A team cannot use a player that has been substituted or sent off during the game.

Why does soccer have two boxes?

Soccer fields feature two distinct boxes in front of the net. The large box is the penalty area -- a critical area where the defending team can be penalized with a penalty kick for certain fouls.

Who can take penalties after extra time?

If scores are level after regular time and extra-time (if used), each team will alternately take penalty kicks against the opposition goalkeeper. If, after five pairs of kicks, an equal number of goals have been scored by each team (or neither team has scored) the shootout proceeds to sudden death.